Trataka meditation- Introduction

Have you ever sat on a still position and concentrated on a single point of light for a long period in a row? Such practice of focusing on a single point of light for a longer period is called ‘concentrated gazing’. In a spiritual language, such practice is called ‘Tratak’. In the yogic culture, Trataka meditation is considered as a good deed or popularly known as shatkarmas, or ‘six actions’ which is widely used to purify the human soul. 

Tratak is believed to be in practice for nearly thousands of years now. In the past, yogis used to calm their chattering and meandering mind by performing tratak meditation. Likewise, the instant medical benefits of tratak meditation include strengthening the muscles of the eyes and correcting your vision, cleansing your negativity, and focusing on the single point or the thoughts for a longer period. The ultimate goal of performing tratak meditation is to get liberation or in spiritual term moksha.  

tratak meditation

Types of Trataka Meditaiton

There are different types of tratak and among them, the widely used tratak are illustrated below:

  1. Bindu Trataka Meditation: A widely practiced tratak where a single point of the black dot is focused for the longer period.
  2. Murti Trataka: A bit different form than that of Bindu tratak meditation, here murti or popularly known as an idol is focused for a longer period.
  3. Vartul Trataka: In this form of tratak all focus is given on a circle.
  4. Allay Trataka: In allay tratak all the practitioner focus on a spiral ring to concentrate.
  5. Jyoti Trataka Meditation: In Jyoti tratak a flame of light is focused for a longer period. Continuous focus is made to make oneself stronger.
  6. Surya Tratak: This tratak is practiced either in the early sunrise or before the sunset. It is generally recommended to practice Surya tratak under the guidance of experts.
  7. Trinetra Tratak: While practicing Trinetra Tratak focus is given to the third eye of own self. 


More Specific Classificatoin of Trataka Meditation Techniques

There are two types of gazing practice, namely, they are external (bahiranga) and internal (antaranga).


External Trataka Meditation

External tratak meditation is usually practiced by gazing continuously at the single point for a longer period. For the beginners, gazing at a single point is a good practice. You can take some reference of object like moon gazing, aum symbol gazing, crystal gazing, candle gazing etc.  All above mention trataka belongs to the external trataka. You can practice anyone.


Antaranga trataka Meditation

While practicing antaranga tratak, both eyes are kept closed and concentrated on a symbol, or a point of light is imagined and concentrated for a longer period. Visualization is carried out while practicing Antaranga tratak, a single point is focused continuously without thinking any other thing. It is advised to see the object clearly and steadily in the dark space of chidakasha, for a longer period without any sort of disturbance.  Both meditation techniques of trataka are very effective.

The perquisites of doing antaranga tratak are not only the vision of eyes get clear, but also the blurry thoughts are obliterated and the clear and crystal way of thinking emerges out. Antaranga can be done any time the practitioners want to; however, it is most often advised to practice on an empty stomach during the morning time. 

NOTE: We can take the chakra system visualization as an internal trataka meditation. Here we visualize the colors of 7 different chakras one by one.


Details of Internal Trataka Meditation for 7 different chakras

8. Root chakra internal trataka

As the name signifies the root, chakra lies at the base of the spine, which is also known as a caudal bone. The root chakra is reddish in color. The significance of root can be compared with feeling aplomb, safety, and safe. In plants, the main function of the root is to draw the necessary nutrients, analogous to that the main significance of the root chakra in humans is also to draw power, wealth and show your wants and needs. 

In this tratak Meditation we visualize the color of the root chakra,  visualize its going to be pure, all the blockage is removing and you are going to be more and more powerful. Similarly, we do for the other chakras too.

9. Sacral chakra Internal trataka

 The second chakra, which comes from bottom to top, is the sacral chakra, which is orange in color. To be precise, the chakra is located just below the belly button. The sacral chakra signifies the control of your emotions, your reactions to the outer world stimulus, and the health condition of your whole body. 

10. Solar plexus chakra

 The yellowish colored solar plexus chakra masters your emotions, energy, power, and self-esteem. The precise location of solar plexus is between naval and sternum. 

11. Heart chakra

The heart chakra is greenish in color and lies at the center of your chest. As the heart signifies the power to give and accept empathy, love, compassion, so is the heart chakra responsible to. 

12. Throat chakra

The color of the throat chakra is blueish. The throat chakra is mainly responsible to show your feelings through your voice and your write up. Those, whose throat chakra is unclogged, can express their feelings with ease. 

13. Third-eye chakra

The color of the third-eye chakra is purple and indigo. It is difficult to open the third eye of a person; therefore, most people consider third-eye chakra as mystical. The position of third eye chakra in the center of the forehead between the eyebrows. 

14. Crown chakra

Another mystical chakra is crown chakra; it is responsible to connect the human energy with the supreme source of energy. The divinity is achieved if the crown chakra is opened.