23 Key terms of yoga

Yoga is a Hindu religion originated technique to heal and enhance an individual physically and spiritually. It has many forms, techniques, and methods for various purposes. Aside from that being of very ancient origin yoga and its terms are defined in Sanskrit. Sanskrit is a very ancient language of unknown origin. The terminologies of Sanskrit are hard and difficult not only for people of non-Hindu origin but is hard for people of Hindu origin nowadays. People who can properly understand Sanskrit to its root are very few in the world.

Here are some of the key terms of yoga described briefly so that it would be easy for the people to understand it:

1) Chitta
Chitta is one of the most used key terms in Yoga. Chitta means one’s mind and consciousness while sometimes it is also described as their inner heart. It can be generalized as ones feeling from the inside.


Nirodha in Sanskrit means absence, removal, or cessation. Nirodha is used as Nirodha mind which means to be still and calm without even thoughts.

3) Samadhi
The meaning of samadhi is meditation. Samadhi is one of the key terms of Yoga and used very frequently. Samadhi in broader sense can be called deep mediation, where one will not be awakening from the meditation soon.

Vritti is translated as Whirlpool as circular in the general sense. However, in yoga Vritti is often used to refer to the eddy movements of energy in the spine.

5) Kaivalya
This one of the key terms of yoga means liberation. In a broader sense it is called as moksha or released from desires of earth and found god.

6) Moksha
Mosha is also called as kaivalya in Sanskrit. Both means same things, Freedom, or liberation from bounds and desires. When an individual finds moksha it is said that he/she becomes one with god.

7) Aatma a very common key terms of yoga

One of the key terms of yoga is Aatma which means soul. Aatma is who you are apart from your physical body, aatma never dies unlike the physical body and is eternal.

8) Paramatma
Parmatma is the origin of all aatmas. Parmatma is one of the terms to describe the god, who is eternal, omnipotent and source of all souls or aatmas.

9) Namaste
This one of the key terms of yoga means greeting. This is done by joining the plans of both hands at the front of the chest and saying namaste.

10) Drishti

Drishti means eyesight. However, it can also be said as someone’s vision, plan, future planning and can be used as much broader thing than just eyesight.

11) Asana
Most of us have heard yoga have many asanas but did not understood what asana means. Asana means pose or body posture or technique to perform something.

12) Pranayama

Pranayama/ breathing is composed of two Sanskrit words prana meaning “breath” and Yama meaning “control”. It is used to denote the set of techniques to control your breath.

13) Akasha
It is one of the 5 elements that make a human body. It is used to define space and sometimes can be used to define sky. It is one of the key terms of yoga.

14) Agni
Agni is the fire aspect of the 5 elements that make a human body. Agni not only means fire but also warmth and heat that we have in our body.


This one of the key terms of yoga means water. It is also one of the 5 elements. Jaal not only translates to water but also represents the fluids of the human body.

16) Bayou
Bayou means air. It is the life force that lives on all living beings. Pranayama is the technique to control the bayou in the body.

17) Dharti
In yoga and Sanskrit Earth is called as Dharti. Dhart is also one of the 5 elements that make up the human body.

18) Anga

This one of the key terms of yoga means parts or divisions. Sometime Anga is also said as the body parts of the human beings.

19) Ananda

The simple translation of Ananda means joy. Vaguely Ananda means the state of utter satisfaction that one has achieved. Ananda is also one of the key terms of yoga.

20) Bindu
This key yoga term means point. In yoga the energy and chakras are concentrated on one fix point which is called as Bindu/point.

21) Buddhi
Buddhi means mind or mental energy. One of the primary purposes of yoga is to keep the buddhi calm and sharp.

22) Chakra
Chakra is translated to spiral. However, in yoga chakra is an energy that we have in our body. There are various chakras in various parts of our body and various yoga techniques to master and control them.

23) Dhyana
This one of the key terms of yoga means meditation. In dhyana the individual makes his body mind stationary. During dhyana, the individual must be free from all evil thoughts and channel positive vives through body.